# 6

; “sorry”

Have you ever said too many ‘sorry’s in one sentence?

I have. Multiple times.

Before I get on with the short story, I have to let you know that I am a student nurse currently.

So, two days ago, I was doing an electrocardiogram for one of the patients. And in order to do ECG for any patient, they would have to bare their chest for us to place the leads. I always feel apologetic for having to expose their chest and having to remove the sticky leads (especially for hairy patients). So I would say a string of ‘sorry’s and the patients would normally say, “It’s okay”, or just shrug it off.

But I came across this one patient who responded in a different manner.

He told me, “You don’t have to say sorry, you are just doing your job right?” And it was like a cat got my tongue for a moment. But I quickly got myself back together and thanked him.

He was right.

Why should we say sorry if we are doing nothing wrong? It’s like we are so afraid of people using anything against us we would rather apologise first for nothing at all. And to make things worse, it has become a habit. ‘Sorry’ just flows out of us without much thought.

What do you think? Are you the type of person who would say sorry repeatedly for nothing?

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Paul S says:

    Definitely. It does become a habit, especially in a job dealing with the public. I’m always saying sorry, without stopping to think why.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! And I just ended up saying sorry to everyone in my life HAHA

      Like

  2. Nicole says:

    Babe not only you. Before i talk to any doctor i always say sorry to disturb. And before i do anythinh for the patient or ask something from the family i also say sorry. Only PRCP then i started this habit hahahaha. Finally someone who always say sorry too hahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HAHAHA! Ikr! And it just blurts out 😅

      Like

Leave a Reply

