#9

; expectations

Are expectations good or bad?

In the last month, there was one question that was asked a gazillion times. (Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating. But it definitely won the “Most Asked Questions of the Month” award)

And that question was..

“What are your plans for the future?”

People ask me what I’m studying now and I say, “Nursing.” Their reaction can be either one of the following:

  1. That’s great! It’s a stable job. So which hospital are you working at after you graduate?
  2. Why did you join nursing? Do you like it?

And after I answer either of the questions, they make up grandiose plans for me with their wild imagination. Doctor, actor, artist, lawyer, you name it.

Honestly, I’m just so tired of taking on the pressure of having to become someone ‘successful’. I mean, I do want to be successful, but before anything else, I want to be happy. I want to be happy with what I’m doing. It’s just like marriage. I don’t want to jump into things.

Honestly, there are so many things that I want to try – sewing, designing, embroidery, photography, video making etc., the list just goes on and on. And there are so many aspirations – YouTuber, fashion designer, artist, singer etc. The only thing that I am sure of is that I want something related to the Arts. Something with a flexible schedule, and hopefully I can work from home too.

In a society where only roles like doctors, lawyers, teachers are approved to be ‘successful’, I wonder if anyone would really support my ideation of doing something completely out of the norm.

And so the question still stands. Are expectations good or bad?

I think that they are both (I know it’s not a definitive answer). Expectations drive us to think of what we really want in life. Like when you go ‘ugh’ at the idea of being a doctor, for example. And yet expectations can also demoralise us easily if we let them get to us.

So I guess we just got to grin and bear as we figure out ourselves. Good luck! 🙂

Also, please share any experiences you have HAHA! 😀

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Waffle says:

    hi love,

    i think you’ve summed up expectations perfectly – positively, it drives people to push themselves further but negatively, it drives people to push YOU further.

    i think the key to having expectations is to know reality well, and that it’s okay to have dreams and to try to reach for them, but remember that IF you don’t reach your dreams, it’s also okay! important part is – you tried and you learned a lot from it, and who knows, you could probably reach higher than what you dreamed of.

    also, i LOVE arts & craft (be it painting, embroidery, playing instruments) even though i suck at it but i love it and i just wanna share this common love with you.

    love you ❤️

    Like

    1. Yesss! As long as we’ve tried! And yes I’d love to share our common interests ❤ Love you waffles ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

