Chinatown (¹)

Hello friends!

So I have been lucid dreaming a lot since last year, and I thought of writing stories inspired by them!

Hope you guys like it, and please give me comments 🙂

P.S this is only part one of Chinatown. And I’m sorry that I couldn’t think of a better name! If you have any suggestions, please let me know HAHA. 😀

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥


“Where are your parents little one?” A dark haired lady asked, smiling.

I stared into her deep set eyes as she maintained her wide smile, and walked past her, getting into queue to see the new shadow puppet show. This would be about the greatest warrior of China, I thought to myself.

“Don’t bother with her, she never replies.” Someone whispered to the lady.

I peek under the fidgety arms of two women who are talking animatedly about the show to see how long the queue is. To my surprise, it was not long before my turn. I slipped my hand into my woven sling bag hanging across my body and secretly felt for the right number of tags. Okay they are all here.

Inside the theatre, it is bustling with noise. I guess everyone could no longer hide their excitement for the show. We rarely get new performances here. I settle for a seat towards the back of the 50-seat theatre while everyone else rushes to the front seats. There is just something about the back seats that I find calming. Soon enough, the entire theatre is brimming with people. Sitting next to me were this sickeningly sweet couple who were kissing so intensely it looked like their entire bodies were warped into one.

The lights dim and the noise dies down. The loud silence finally breaks as the musicians strike the first note. The general walks in, greeted by a row of sloppy men. He bellows with rage, “I can’t hear you princesses.” Immediately, the row of sloppy men straighten their backs and shout in unison, “Good morning General Shang!” As the show goes on, I feel my eyelids drooping and I doze off into la la land unknowingly.

The crowd roars and I yawn as I awake. I am bewildered as I see everyone running towards the exit. And then I realised why. Near the stage, flames are climbing the wooden poles of the theatre. I stood up, only to be elbowed back into my seat.


 

2 comments

  1. Waffle · February 16

    hi love,

    omg i love this – i love the way you tell your story; how you phrased every sentence; how you pick your word choices; how i can picture everything in my head.

    it’s very well-written and i look forward to reading more!

    love you ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • elaineclairelle · February 16

      Omg you have no idea how happy you made me :’) Thankyou so much for your love and support as always ❤ Can’t wait to show you the rest 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

