Chinatown (²)

Hello friends!

So sorry this took awhile! Thank you for waiting xx! Hope that you like the second part of Chinatown 🙂

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥


I held onto my chest, staring in disbelief. How did this happen. The ache in my chest grew due to the impact, and I held onto it, afraid that my heart may actually stop beating. The ringing in my ears was deafening. I saw people running for their dear lives and yet I couldn’t hear the screaming anymore.

It was just like the first time I entered the foster home 2 years ago. Kids of my age then ran around half naked. I stood at the door with the most emotionless expression I could muster while I was screaming on the inside. As the door slammed shut behind me, everyone came to a halt. But one. A plump lady wearing a flowery apron hurried from the kitchen. “You must be China,” she smiled warmly and reached out to me with both arms. I stepped back defensively without thought. She must have been offended. She retracts her hands and greets the stern man standing behind me instead.

At first, everyone was so welcoming. But each time someone asks me to play with them, I can’t find the words to agree to their innocent request.. It’s like I became mute for that split second where ‘yes’ or ‘no’ mattered greatly. I grip on my tags tighter, hoping that they will give me courage and strength, yet nothing surfaces everytime.

Overtime, they stopped trying, but they do tell me little things like “Dinner’s ready!”. And overtime, I started to believe that I was part of this wonderful family. Until one day, Jun, the eldest son, confronted me and pushed me so hard I fell with a loud thud on the ground.

“Get out, don’t block my way you mutt,” he hissed. He then whispered something that completely shattered my image of the home I was in – “You don’t even belong here to begin with.”

Burn.

Almost immediately, Jun caught on fire. And everyone came racing to him. I don’t understand. I was the one hurt, why are they not asking me if I’m okay? Is it really like he said? That I never belonged here?

“Burn everything!” I cried out of desperation, tears rolling down my cheeks.

As if on cue, flames engulfed my surroundings, along with the people I once thought was family. I wailed as everything was burnt down to ashes except for me who was protected in a shield made of air currents.

News spread like wild fire (not literally) about an orphaned girl who was the sole survivor of a tragedy. What they did not know was that I caused the tragedy. Ever since then, I have not uttered a word, afraid that another tragedy might happen if my emotions got the better of me again.

“I’m not going to let it happen again,” I mumbled to myself.

Leave a Reply

