# 13

; disabled?

Do you see ‘disabled’ people or elderly along the walkway, holding out tin cans hoping that people would put some money in? I always do. But I decided that I wouldn’t chip in anymore and here’s why.

I don’t like to think of anyone as ‘disabled’. Someone is only truly disabled when they put a limit on themselves. Look at people like Stephen Hawking, Helen Keller, Nick Vujicic or Oscar Pistorius. They are in a much ‘worse’ condition, yet they are so successful in their careers, even more successful than most of us who are born perfectly ‘healthy’.

I think of these ‘disabled’ people as people with potential. I believe that everyone has something that they’re good at. Some sing, some play instruments etc. And I don’t see why they can’t be every bit as successful as everyone else in the society.

When I was younger, I used to think, “Is there a more permanent solution? Maybe someone could train them in a certain skill?” You may argue that these people can’t possibly learn a skill because they are ‘disabled’ they are ‘old’ etc. I beg to differ. There are plenty of grandfathers and grandmothers out there who are smarter than us, the younger generation. They just need a slightly longer time to catch on. Not because they are slow, it’s just biology.

I envisioned that there could be a learning hub for these people with potential. If prisoners are entitled to something like that, I think that these people should too. I just don’t want to belittle these people you know? Anyway, I’m not the most creative person on Earth so I’m sure that someone can come up with a better plan/ suggestion for this issue.

I think that these people with potential deserve a chance at life. They don’t have to sit down and get rejected a million times everyday. I don’t believe that anyone would want that for themselves.

And also, rather than giving money, I think food and drinks or clothes (not tattered and torn please) could be a better choice? I am sure that they aren’t picky with food, and they’ll be happy with anything you give them 🙂

What do you guys think? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥

Leave a Reply

