# 19

; suicidal thoughts

Over the years, I have learnt that it’s either you understand or you don’t regarding people with suicidal thoughts. There’s really no in between.

I have had suicidal thoughts since secondary school. I don’t know what set it off, but I just remember sitting on my window sill, with this urge to just jump down.

Since then, I have quite a few incidents whereby I would be holding a knife in the kitchen to chop up my fruit, but in my mind, I was thinking of slitting my wrists or stabbing my abdomen.

Sadly, whenever I open up to someone about having them, they would think that I just have to calm down and cheer up. But really, these thoughts just come and go you know? I can’t exactly control them.

But one thing I can control, is not acting upon the “voices'” instructions.

When someone opens up to you about having suicidal thoughts, I think it’s best to do the following (of course it’s different for everyone):

  1. Stay by their side until they feel better
  2. Encourage them and let them know how great they are
  3. Listen to them

What not to do:

  1. Dismiss their thoughts
  2. Tell them that their life is perfect
  3. Interrupt them (But give signs of acknowledgement – nod etc.)

Have you had suicidal thoughts before? Or did you know someone with suicidal thoughts? Let me know in the comments down below! I hope that this was helpful to some! 😀

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥

Leave a Reply

