# 29

; “maturity”

When I was about 10 years old, I used to think that maturity comes with age. Like I had to be 21 years old to be considered ‘mature’.

Until adults started to tell me that I was ‘mature for a young person’.

I would thank them, and give them a little smile, trying to look like an adult. But in my mind I was like, “What did they mean? Am I an oldie on the inside? Do I look old?” Questions like these started popping up in my mind.

But things started to click when I got older.

Maturity is being able to differentiate a want from a need. Maturity is wanting to understand different perspectives of a story. Maturity is knowing both privileges and disadvantages of a situation.

Being mature does not mean that you won’t make mistakes, it means that you will not repeat the same mistake. Being mature does not mean that you won’t show anger or cry your heart out, it means that you know how to handle your emotions and pick yourself up at the end of the day.

Maturity is less to do with appearance, and more to do with mindset.

In this age there are many young teenagers who love to dress up, and trust me, I was there. I would go shopping with my mom when I was 10 and I would pick up leopard print dresses HAHA. (Don’t worry, my mother stopped me.)

I am not saying that young people shouldn’t dress up, but at least look your age. Also, go easy on the makeup because when you are older, you are going to need a lot more effort to care for your skin.

And I think that while we work on our appearances, we should never neglect our souls. Always care for your inner self first.

As wise people say, people may forget how we look like, or what we did in the past, but they will remember how we made them feel.

Do you just want to be a pretty person? I definitely want to be more than just a ‘pretty face’.

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥

Leave a Reply

