# 31

; communication

Be it verbal or non-verbal, communication is so important in a relationship.

How great a relationship becomes, depends on how well the two people communicate with one another.


Last week, I witnessed something saddening.

I was standing in line at Pastamania and before me was a married couple.

Nothing special really. I was just listening to my music playlist. But all of a sudden the couple got out of the queue, and while I was contemplating on whether I should move up in line, the woman reprimanded the man for not staying in line.

I just want to say that I’m not a big fan of eavesdropping, but the woman was literally yelling. (Also I only had one side of my earphones on due to my surgery.)

The man insisted on finding seats on the inside, and the woman kept waiting outside. I assume she was seated outside as there were no free tables on the inside.

But I was incredibly shocked when they repeatedly scorned at each other.

From what I observed, I think the man insisted on being seated on the inside as it was hot outside.

And then that got me thinking.

I don’t understand why the man never explained why he wanted to sit inside. Instead, he questioned his wife on why she had to keep yelling. I also didn’t understand why the woman didn’t ask her husband why he wanted to sit inside. Instead, she kept scolding her husband because he kept getting out of the queue.

Putting that issue aside, it was time for them to order. They were using 6 vouchers to redeem 1 Classic Pasta (I know because I was going to do the same HAHA).

Unfortunately, the man did not know that 6 vouchers could only redeem 1 Classic Pasta. When he found out, the woman said, “Yeah, 6 vouchers only can redeem 1 pasta what, you don’t know meh?” Which to the cashier agreed and asked the man what he would like. When the husband did not reply, the woman then said, “You don’t need to eat meh?”

I was taken aback.

I know that some married couples do not get along as well as they used to, but this was by far the worst I’ve witnessed in person.


My dear friends, I am not sure if you have read this story on Thought Catalog by Richard Paul Evans, but I feel that everyone should read it, whether or not you are married. It is titled “How One Simple Question Saved My Marriage”.

We could really learn a thing or two from his story.

In today’s society, we spend so much time doing work. And even in our leisure time, our eyes are glued to our phone screens, scrolling through social media. Don’t believe me? Watch this!

Everyone has 24 hours a day.

Now the real issue is how do you want to spend it?

For me, communicating in person is 100000 times better than communicating through technology.

Warmest hugs,

e.clair ♥

Leave a Reply

